At the end of the Day

In honor of National Coming out Day yesterday, I would like to share my story with all of you. As much of my followers know I do have a handsome son who is 2 years old, but me having a child does not change who I am. On the inside growing up I have aloutways found an attraction to woman, was able to connect more easily with them. On the outside, men were attracted to me because of my many features that I am blessed with. Soon after I had my son, I had begun to really embrace myself and had the time to figure out who Dannise is. I finally found her and could not be anymore happy with my life now. My parents, family and friends accept me for me and am thankful I have such a supportive team behind me.

Every year on October 11, National Coming out Day celebrates those individuals who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ). Yesterday marked the 28th anniversary of this day. Every person who speaks up changes the hearts and minds of those who are quiet and paves the way for more equality.

The Human Rights Campaign has made National Coming Out Day just as much about being an outspoken LGBTQ ally as it is about being proud of who you are. Over the years, celebrities including Ellen DeGeneres and Niel Patrick Harris publicly revealed their sexuality. Noteworthy wins at award shows have provided a place for public LGBT advocacy.

Laverne Cox’s Emmy spe0d77172c7bff21b2f2148e17625eac8eech included her call to action from Hollywood when she mentioned, “Give trans talent a shot. I would not be here today is somebody didn’t give me a chance.”

Caitlyn Jenner, another powerful LGBT voice, also was emotional when she spoke for the first time after she announced her gender transition at the ESPY Awards. “This transition has been harder on me than anything I could imagine and that’s the case for so many others besides me,” said Jenner. “For that reason alone, trans people deserve something vital. They deserve your respect. And from that respect comes a more compassionate community, a more empathetic society and a better world for all of us.”

The single best thing about coming out the closet is that no one can insult you by telling you what you have just told them.

 

Leave a Reply

